EDUCATION Houston County

New Principal of Miller Elementary School named at Houston County board meeting

HOUSTON COUNTY, Georgia (KBTV) – Beginning in June, there will be a new principal at Miller Elementary School in Houston County.

Dr. Dana Brock was named as the next principal of Miller Elementary School during the Houston County Board of Education meeting held on January 17, 2023. Current principal, Mrs. Elizabeth Johnson, will retire in June. Dr. Brock currently serves as an Assistant Principal at Feagin Mill Middle School.

Dr. Brock says, “I am thrilled and honored to be the new principal of Miller Elementary. I can’t wait to serve this amazing school community and work with our staff, students and parents to ensure that our Mighty Rockets keep soaring.”

Dr. Brock began her teaching career at David Perdue Elementary teaching second grade. After transferring to Russell Elementary, she taught third and fifth grade. She began in school administration as an Assistant Principal at Kings Chapel Elementary and Langston Road Elementary.

Dr. Brock received a Bachelor of Science in 1996 and a Master of Science in Early Childhood Education in 2001, both from Fort Valley State University. In 2003, she received her Educational Specialist in Curriculum Instruction and Administration Management from Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Brock also holds a certification in Georgia Performance-Based Leadership from Columbus State University and a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from Mercer University.

Dr. Brock is married to Alonzo Brock, and they have three children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: